SBTL, Floorstanding   as in Hobby HiFi 5/2010

 
Technical data
- impedance: 4 Ohm
- sensivity (2,83V/1m): 85 dB
- size (HxWxD): 860 x 160 x 260 mm
- frequency range (-8dB): 37 - 35000 Hz
- crossover frequency(s): 1800 Hz
- speaker type: transmission line

The SBTL is a small transmission line speaker with drivers by SB Acoustics. The design is similar to the Fuzzy transmission line, known to the readers of the magazine Hobby HiFi as Fuzzy TML, introduced in issue 1/2009.

The speaker is equipped with ring radiator and a 12 cm woofer. One should not expect miracles from the bass of 12 cm woofer; for higher volumes a different solution should be used like Fuzzy TML as in Hobby HiFi 1/2009.

The speaker is controlled by a 12 dB crossover.

An excerpt from the Hobby HiFi review

"The listening test proved that upgrading from a simple MKP to Audyn Plus showed better results than upgrading from an Audyn Plus to Silver capacitor. Anyway: Those who have the necessary funds available and wish to get the best out of the SBTL shouldn't hesitate to invest into a high frequency capacitor of this price bracket. Even with the inexpensive crossover version the sound of the SBTL is astonishingly airy and natural. The loudspeaker produces an almost realistic sound. The bass is terrific: extremely transparent, tight and without bulge. The bass slip in the frequency response didn't show any consequences in practice. The bass is cleanly structured and surprises with a taste of splendid low bass which we never expected from such a slim loudspeaker. Needless to say, one should not expect miracles regarding maximum dynamics. Even though the woofer shows quite a cone travel the radiating area is a mere 54 square centimeters. In a room of 25 square meters you can really enjoy the music without paying too much attention to the volume. Yet, it is still possible to overdo it. For those of you who like to listen at high volumes the SBTL is not the right speaker. The clarity of the mids are delighting, producing vocals that are right in the center of your living room. The realistic tonality and the spatial definition are complementing one another perfectly. It's absolutely puzzling how the tops are resolving even the finest details without a hint of exaggeration. Understatement would be term that comes to mind: nothing is forced, it's all about attention to detail. In this regard they are not shy at all. Three-dimensionality is somewhat constrained and, therefore, not particularly wide, but rather accurate with a well defined width and depth. This speaker is no show-off , but rather a thoroughly honest speaker - nothing is exaggerated , everything is real and authentic. By using a high-end crossover the SBTL pays even more attention to detail. Listening to Vivaldi's The Winter" it is easier to distinguish between the individual strings. The excerpt from the radio play by SWF radio station, also to be found on this CD, shows a greatly increased depth. Initially, the differences between the two crossovers are rather subtle. But the longer you switch between them so much more pronounced are the differences until you cannot do without the high-end version anymore."

Our kit consists of

  • SB Acoustics SB12NRXF25-4
  • SB Acoustics SB29RDCN-000-4
  • Damping fleece for MT Bondum 800 (30 x 50 x 2 cm)
  • Damping Sonofil for 20 litres, white
  • Binding Post PK31 (per pair, red and black)
  • 2.5 m Speaker cable 2x2.5 mm2, transparent
  • Pan screws 4x20 black, 8 pieces
  • Plan for DIY kit

the crossover components (right),
to be mounted on a small wooden board.

  • electrolytic capacitor, unetched, 10 uF / 70 Vdc
  • electrolytic capacitor, unetched, 15uF / 70 Vdc
  • MKP capacitor 6.8 uF / 400V
  • air core coil 0,7 mm, 0.47 mH/0.57 Ohm
  • air core coil 1,4 mm, 1.2 mH/0.33 Ohm
  • 2x MOX4 resistor 4.7 Ohm/4 Watt (yellow-purple-gold)
  • MOX10 resistor 4.7 Ohm/10Watt (yellow-purple-gold)

Kit without cabinet, price per speaker - not available
 

   

Kit with high-end crossover

In our high-end version Tritec/Hepta inductors are used. The capacitor in series to the tweeter is a Clarity CAP ESA capacitor. The crossover parts are:

  • MKP capacitor Q4 10uF / 400V
  • MKP capacitor Q4 15uF / 400V
  • Clarity CAP ESA 6.8uF / 800V
  • Hepta coil 0.47 mH/7x0.6 mm, 0.17 Ohm
  • Hepta coil 1.2 mH/7x0.6 mm, 0.33 Ohm
  • 2x MOX4 resistor 4.7 Ohm/4 Watt (yellow-purple-gold)
  • MOX10 resistor 4.7 Ohm/10Watt (yellow-purple-gold)

Kit with high-end crossover without cabinet, price per speaker - not available

Impedance correction

If you want to use a valve amplifier with this speaker an impedance correction should be employed. In this case the component quality is less important; therefore, we offer only one kit (upon request higher quality components are available).

  • Mundorf, electrolytic capacitor, unetched, 33uF / 70 Vdc
  • Mundorf air core coil L71, 0.39 mH/0.51 Ohm
  • MOX10 resistor 5.6 Ohm/10Watt (green-blue-gold)


Price per impedance correction for one speaker, to be mounted on a small wooden board.   EUR 10,00 excl. VAT: € 8.40 / $ 9.75

Leiterplatten

If you prefer to mount the crossover components on a universal PCB instead on wood
PCB 150x115 mm, tin plated, price per unit: EUR 4,70 excl. VAT: € 3.95 / $ 4.58
We recommend one board per kit (two boards per speaker pair)
 


Home   Hobby HiFi Overview

SBTL, Standlautsprecher   in Hobby HiFi 5/2010

 
technische Daten:
- Impedanz: 4 Ohm
- Kennschalldruck (2,83V/1m): 85 dB
- Maße (HxBxT): 860 x 160 x 260 mm
- Frequenzbereich (-8dB): 37 - 35000 Hz
- Trennfrequenz(en): 1800 Hz
- Prinzip: Transmissionlinebox

SBTL ist eine kleine Transmissionlinebox mit Chassis der Firma SB Acoustics. Der Aufbau entspricht einer Fuzzy-Transmissionline, die Leser der Zeitschrift Hobby HiFi bereits aus Fuzzy TML in Hobby HiFi 1/2009 kennen.

Die Box ist mit einem Ringradiator und einem 12 cm Tieftöner ausgestattet. Von dem 12 cm Tieftöner darf man lautstärkemäßig keine Wunder erwarten; für höhere Lautstärke sollte eine andere Lösung (wie Fuzzy TML in Hobby HiFi 1/2009 zum Einsatz kommen.

Die Lautsprecher werden durch eine 12 dB-Weiche angesteuert.

Ein Ausschnitt aus dem Hobby HiFi Hörtest

"Im Hörtest war der Schritt vom einfachen MKP zum Audyn Plus größer als der vom Audyn Plus zum Silber-Cap. Trotzdem: Wer das Budget zur Verfügung hat und aus der SBTL das Maximum herausholen möchte, sollte sich nicht scheuen, auch in einen Hochtonkondensator dieser Preisklasse zu investieren. Schon mit der preiswerten Frequenzweichenversion spielt die SBTL erstaunlich leichtfüßig und mit großer Selbstverständlichkeit. Der Lautsprecher baut ein fast reales musikalisches Bild auf. Ganz große Klasse ist der Bass: äußerst transparent, durchtrainiert und ohne Grundton-Bauch. Der Tiefton-Schlenker im Frequenzgangschrieb bleibt in der Praxis folgenlos. Der Tieftonbereich ist sauber durchgezeichnet und erstaunt durch famose Tiefbass-Kostproben, die man einem so zierlichen Tieftöner und Lautsprecher nun wirklich nicht zutraut. Natürlich wachsen die Bäume was die Maximaldynamik angeht, nicht in den Himmel. Auch wenn der Tieftöner in puncto Membranhub aus dem Vollen schöpfen kann, bleibt seine Membran doch gerade mal 54 Quadratzentimeter klein. In einem 25-Quadratmeter-Raum lässt sich vorzüglich Musik genießen, ohne dass man auf die Lautstärke achten muss. Trotzdem kann man das Spiel auch überreizen. Wer gerne laut hört, für den ist die SBTL definitiv nicht der richtige Lautsprecher. In den Mitten begeistert die Klarkeit, mit der Stimmen im Raum stehen. Tonale Natürlichkeit und räumliche Definition ergänzen sich vorzüglich. Die Höhen verblüffen mit ihrer Selbstverständlichkeit, mit der sie feine Details auflösen, ohne dabei auch nur im Mindesten zu übertreiben. Eher kann man hier von Understatement sprechen: Nichts drängt sich auf, eher wollen die Feinheiten in der Musik erhört werden. Dann scheuen sie sich nicht, zutage zu treten. Die Räumlichkeit ist eher trocken, dadurch nicht extrem weitschweifig, sondern bei wohldefinierter Breite und Tiefe des Raums besonders punktgenau. Der Lautsprecher ist kein Blender, sondern eine grundehrliche Haut - alles ist echt, nichts übertrieben, dadurch aber auch besonders glaubwürdig. Mit High-End-Frequenzweiche tut sich die SBTL mit feinsten Strukturen leichter. In Vivaldis "Der Winter" von der Manger-Hörtest-CD lassen sich die Streicher besser auseinanderhalten. Die Raum im Hörspiel-Ausschnitt des SWF, ebenfalls auf dieser CD zu finden, reicht erstaunlich weiter in die Tiefe. Das alles sind anfangs keine Welten, die zwischen den beiden Frequenzweichen-Versionen liegen, eher winzige Nuancen. Aber je länger man hin und her wechselt, desto deutlicher unterscheiden sie sich - bis man irgendwann nicht mehr von der High-End-Version lassen kann."

Unser Bausatz besteht aus

  • SB Acoustics Hochtöner SB12NRXF25-4
  • SB Acoustics Tieftöner SB29RDCN-000-4
  • Dämmflies für MT Bondum 800 (30 x 50 x 2 cm)
  • Dämmmaterial Sonofil f. 20 Liter, weiß
  • Polklemme PK31, Paar, rot+schwarz
  • 2,5 m Lautsprecherkabel 2x2,5 mm2, transparent
  • Pan-Schrauben 4x20 schwarz, 8 Stück
  • Bauplan für den Bausatz

den Frequenzweichenbauteilen (rechts),
auf einem Holzbrettchen aufzubauen.

  • Elko glatt, 10 uF / 70 Vdc
  • Elko glatt, 15uF / 70 Vdc
  • MKP-Kondensator 6,8 uF / 400V
  • 1,0 mm Luftspule, 0,47 mH/0,57 Ohm
  • 1,4 mm Luftspule, 1,2 mH/0,33 Ohm
  • 2x MOX4-Widerstand 4,7 Ohm/4 Watt (gelb-violett-gold)
  • MOX10-Widerstand 4,7 Ohm/10Watt (gelb-violett-gold)

Bausatz ohne Gehäuse, Preis pro Box - nicht lieferbar
 

   

Bausatz mit High-End-Weiche

In unserer High-End-Version kommen Tritec-/HeptaLitze-Spulen zum Einsatz. In Reihe zum Hochtöner findet ein Audyn CAP Plus Verwendung. Nachfolgend die Frequenzweichenbauteile:

  • MKP-Kondensator Q4 10uF / 400V
  • MKP-Kondensator Q4 15uF / 400V
  • Clarity CAP ESA 6,8uF / 800V
  • Tritec-/HeptaLitze-Spule 0,47 mH/7x0,6 mm
  • Tritec-/HeptaLitze-Spule 1,2 mH/7x0,6 mm
  • 2x MOX4-Widerstand 4,7 Ohm/4 Watt (gelb-violett-gold)
  • MOX10-Widerstand 4,7 Ohm/10Watt (gelb-violett-gold)

Bausatz mit High-End-Weiche ohne Gehäuse, Preis pro Box - nicht lieferbar

Impedanzkorrektur

Falls der Lautsprecher an einem Röhrenverstärker betrieben werden soll, dann sollte eine Impedanzkorrektur zum Einsatz kommen. Hier spielt die Bauteilqualität nur eine geringe Rolle, weswegen wir nur einen Bausatz anbieten (auf Wunsch erhalten Sie selbstverständlich auch höherwertige Bauteile).


Zur Impedanzkorrektur liefern wir folgende Bauteile:

  • Mundorf Elko glatt, 33uF / 70 Vdc
  • Mundorf Luftspule L71, 0,39 mH/0,51 Ohm
  • MOX10-Widerstand 5,6 Ohm/10Watt (grün-blau-gold)

Preis pro Impedanzkorrektur für eine Box auf Holz aufzubauen EUR 10,00 ohne MwSt: € 8.40 / $ 9.92

Leiterplatten

Falls Sie die Frequenzweiche lieber auf Universal-Leiterplatte statt auf Holz aufbauen wollen:
Leiterplatte 150x115 mm, verzinnt, Preis pro Stück: EUR 4,70 ohne MwSt: € 3.95 / $ 4.66
Pro Bausatz empfehlen wir 1 Platte (für ein Paar Boxen also 2)
 


  zur Hobby HiFi-Übersicht