Home Discussion Page

How close may a loudspeaker be placed to a wall?

Peter Strassacker Dr. Peter Strassacker
Loudspeaker design since 1977
Books on material research and field theory
Design of loudspeakers like Lagrange 98, Pascal, Sub 10-60

Hints how to place speakers
Peter Strassacker interviewed by
Dennis Frank (7/2004).
 
 

Dennis:
Peter, a lot of customer would like to place their speakers as close to the wall as possible. How close may they be placed to the rear wall? How close may they be placed to the side wall?

Peter:
Loudspeakers are usually set-up neutrally. This means that they are designed in such a way that their sound reproduction is neutral when they are placed away from walls. In a living room we have a rule of thumb: 1 metre away from the wall.

If this distance is reduced considerably then we have a boost in bass due to the reflections of the wall. The low frequencies that usually disperse uniformly, will then be radiated within a part of the room or in a corner.

Since the radiated energy remains almost the same, the reflection coming from the wall is boosted by 4 to 6 dB, in a corner it will be even up to 10 dB.

Dennis:
Is that the reason why we consider this to be a boomy bass? What about the bass reflex tube? Is it important whether it is facing the rear or the front?

Peter:
Generally it's not important whether the bass reflex tube is pointing to the rear or tho the front. That was confirmed by Visaton using the VOXen placed 10 cm from the wall.

If you have a solid rear wall (bricked or concrete) it is often helpful to have the bass reflex tube just 2 or 3 cm away from the wall. The small gap between cabinet and wall acts like an extension to the bass reflex tube; this results in a lower tuning and, therefore, reduces the sound pressure level in the low bass region by 1 - 3 dB. This partly compensated by a rise of 4 - 6 dB due to the proximity of the wall.

Dennis:
The bass boost takes place at the side walls too.

In magazine like Stereoplay we often read about loudspeakers, like e.g.. JMLab, with a slight volume boost at 100 Hz. What's the purpose of this boost?

Peter:
This is an effect of the globalisation. In the USA and Japan the walls are often relatively soft and absorb, therefore, frequencies around 100 Hz. To make sure that the US Americans and Japanese also enjoy these frequencies the loudspeaker design is done in such a way that this absorption is compensated. For Europeans this is not pleasant since this frequency range is boosted twice: by the design of the speaker and by placing it close to the wall.

Dennis:
This means that a Pascal with a restrained bass is perfectly suited for European solid walls.

What happens to three-dimensionality when speakers are placed close to a wall?

Peter:
The human ear in conjunction with our brain forms a three-dimensional picture using the first sound waves that reach both out ears. If loudspeakers are placed 20 to 50 cm away from the wall then we hear first the front radiating waves and with a delay of 20 to 50 cm the reflections coming from the wall. This is bad. Our brain is not capable of differentiating waves that arrive at our ears that close to one another. The second sound wave should have a delay of 1 metre. Only then the brain forms a three-dimensional picture.

Dennis:
Does this mean that the distance from the side wall to the speaker should be - if possible - 1 metre?

Peter:
That's correct.

Home     Interviews

zurück zur Startseite Diskussions-Übersichtsseite

Wie nah darf der Lautsprecher an der Wand stehen?

Peter Strassacker Dr. Peter Strassacker
seit 1977 Lautsprecherbau
Bücher über Materialforschung und Feldtheorie
Boxen wie Lagrange 98, Pascal, Sub 10-60

Hinweise zur Aufstellung
Dennis Frank befragte dazu
Peter Strassacker (7/2004).
 
 

Dennis:
Peter, viele Kunden wollen ihre Boxen möglichst nah an die Wand stellen. Wie nah darf man an die Rückwand? Wie nah an die seitlichen Wände?

Peter:
Boxen sind in der Regel neutral abgestimmt. Das bedeutet, sie sind so konstruiert, dass eine neutrale Wiedergabe bei einigermaßen freier Aufstellung im Raum entsteht. Im Wohnraum verwenden wir gerne als Faustformel 1 Meter Abstand zur Wand.

Unterschreitet man diesen Abstand deutlich, so erhält man eine Bassanhebung durch die Reflexion an der Wand, da jetzt die tiefen Töne, die sich normal kugelförmig ausbreiten, eben nur noch in eine Raumhälfte oder im Eck in ein Raumviertel ausbreiten können.

Da die abgestrahlte Energie etwa gleich bleibt, gibt es an der Wand, wo dann nur in eine Richtung abgestrahlt wird, etwa 4-6 dB und im Eck sogar bis zu 10 dB Anhebung.

Dennis:
Man erhält also eine Bassanhebung, die uns oft als wumpsiger Bass erscheint? Wie ist es nun mit dem Bassreflexrohr, das nach vorn oder nach hinten zeigt?

Peter:
Prinzipiell ist es egal ob das Bassreflexrohr nach vorn oder nach hinten zeigt - das hat auch Visaton mit den VOXen bei 10 cm Wandabstand nachgemessen.

Wenn man eine solide (gemauerte oder betonierte) Rückwand hat, ist das Bassreflexrohr nach hinten mit nur 2-3 cm Wandabstand oft hilfreich. Durch den schmalen Spalt wird das Bassreflexrohr verlängert; damit wird es tiefer abgestimmt, wodurch der Schalldruck im Tieftonbereich 1-3 dB abnimmt. Dies gleicht dann die Anhebung durch die Wandnähe um 4-6 dB zum Teil aus.

Dennis:
Die Bassanhebung gilt natürlich auch für die Seitenwände.

In Zeitschriften wie Stereoplay liest man oft, dass Boxen wie sogar JMLab bei 100 Hz eine leichte Anhebung im Frequenzgang aufweisen? Wozu ist dies gut?

Peter:
Das sind Auswirkungen der welt-weiten Globalisierung. Wenn in USA die Wände relativ weich aufgebaut sind; ebenso im Japan, dann schlucken diese Schall um 100 Hz. Um dem entgegen zu wirken, wird die Box so konstruiert, dass auch der Amerikaner oder Japaner in den Genuss dieser Frequenzen kommt; dies ist aber für Europa nicht so erfreulich, denn genau diese Frequenz wird dann zweimal angehoben: durch die Konstruktion und durch die wandnahe Aufstellung.

Dennis:
Das bedeutet, dass eine Pascal mit der zurückhaltenden Bassabstimmung genau auf den Europäischen Markt mit soliden Wänden abgestimmt ist.

Wie ist es mit der Räumlichkeit bei wandnaher Aufstellung?

Peter:
Das menschliche Ohr erzeugt mit dem Gehirn einen Raumeindruck, indem die ersten Schallfronten, die am linken und rechten Ohr eintreffen, ausgewertet werden. Stehen die Boxen dabei 20-50 cm nahe an der Wand, so trifft zuerst die direkte Schallfront und dann 20-50 cm verzögert die indirekte Schallfront über eine Reflexion an der Wand ein. Das ist nicht gut, da der Mensch so dichte Schallfronten nicht auseinander halten kann. Die zweite Schallfront sollte 1 Meter Abstand haben; dann entsteht für das Gehör ein Raumeindruck.

Dennis:
Das heißt, dass der Abstand zur seitlichen Wand - falls möglich - fast ein Meter sein sollte?

Peter:
So ist es.

    zum Interview-Überblick