back to Home Discussion Overview

How to dampen a loudspeaker cabinet?

Peter Strassacker Dr. Peter Strassacker
involved in loudspeaker design since 1977
Books on material and field research
speakers like Lagrange 98, Pascal, Sub 10-60

How to dampen a loudspeaker cabinet
Peter Strassacker
interviewed by Torsten Bätz (7/2004).
 
 

Torsten:
Peter, what kind of damping materials do you prefer and how should they be applied?

Peter:
First of all I would like to explain how sound waves radiate within an enclosure. The sound is reflected by the cabinet walls. Right at the wall the sound pressure gets to its maximum, the sound particle velocity is at its minimum. The sound can only be dampened efficiently where something is moving. Therefore, sound dampening cannot take place right at the wall where there are only air pressure fluctuation, but no air movement.

As a result dampening should be done inside the cabinet (not right at the wall). For that purpose damping material like polyester fleece, sheep's wool or any other not too dense material should be placed loosely inside the cabinet. Bass reflex tubes and their ports should be remain clear by a distance of 1 or 2 tube diameters.

Torsten:
How should the damping material be attached?

Peter:
In most cases it doesn't need to be attached. It is sufficient to loosen it up (not torn up). The material attaches itself to the driver. In difficult cases, where a transmission line speaker needs only slight damping, the material may be glued or stapled to the opposing side.

Home     Discussion Overview

zurück zur Startseite Diskussions-Übersichtsseite

Wie ist eine Box zu bedämpfen?

Peter Strassacker Dr. Peter Strassacker
seit 1977 Lautsprecherbau
Bücher über Materialforschung und Feldtheorie
Boxen wie Lagrange 98, Pascal, Sub 10-60

Wie bedämpfe ich meine Box
Torsten Bätz befragte dazu
Peter Strassacker (7/2004).
 
 

Torsten:
Peter, welche Dämpfungsmaterialien bevorzugt Du, wie sind sie einzusetzen?

Peter:
Zuerst möchte ich erklären, wie sich die Schallwellen in der Box ausbreiten. Durch die Wände wird der Schall reflektiert. An der Wand hat man ein Maximum für den Schalldruck und ein Minimum für die Schallschnelle. Nur wo sich etwas bewegt, kann der Schall effizient bedämpft werden. Dies kann also nicht an der Wand geschehen, wo nur Luftdruckschwankungen aber keine Luftbewegung auftritt.

Gedämpft wird somit im Boxeninneren (nicht an der Wand). Dazu ist ein Dämpfungsmaterial wie Dämmwatte (Polyesterflies), Schafswolle oder ein sonstiges nicht zu dichtes Material locker und luftig in das gesamte Volumen einzubringen. Hierbei bleiben Bassreflexrohre und Ihr Luftauslass mit ca. einem Abstand von 1-2 Rohrdurchmesser frei.

Torsten:
wie befestigst Du das Dämpfungsmaterial?

Peter:
Wenn man es etwas locker aufzupft (nicht zerreißen), muss es oft gar nicht befestigt werden, da es sich selbst gegenüber dem Lautsprecherchassis festhält. In schwierigen Fällen, wo eine Transmissionline nur ganz schwach bedämpft wird, kann man es an gegenüberliegenden Seiten antackern oder kleben.

    zum Interview-Überblick