Home Floorstanding
speakers
Shelf
speakers
Drivers Mini Lagrange XT 98 Dirac XT Mini 65 Cauchy

Alcone Cauchy: Building Instruction         Description   Lab Results  

The cabinet should be built with 18 mm MDF or Multiplex boards. There are 6 boards for the cabinet and further 3 boards for midrange driver enclosure. All boards are rectangular.

Just under a bag of polyester damping material should be placed into the midrange enclosure (first cut-off 3 strips for the bass reflex tubes) and 2 bags damping material should be place in the bass enclosure. The bass reflex tubes should not be covered (except the wrapping); otherwise the polyester fleece should be placed loosely in the remaining cabinet. Alcone Cauchy Frequenzweiche

Mounting the bass reflex tubes

Alcone Cauchy Bassreflexrohr After the cabinet has been assembled and before the bass drivers are fitted the bass reflex tubes need to be mounted. That's done by pushing the upper tube through the bass driver cut-out (picture 1). Then, from the outside, the second tube is going to be attached to the first tube with adhesive tape (picture 2). Finally, the entire tube is going to pushed through (picture 3). 1 or 2 layers of 10 cm wide absorbant polyester may be wrapped around the joint for suspension.

Those who wish to have an even less tall Cauchy might place the tweeter and midrange driver next to one another. This requires that the bass reflex tubes are mounted at the rear of the cabinet, pointing towards the tweeter. This has the disadvantage the the speaker has to be pointed exactly towards the listener. Therefore, we have omitted this design.

Cauchy: crossover  

The crossover should be mounted on a wooden panel. The individual components should either be hot-glued to the wooden board or attached with cable fasteners and then wired up. If preferred, a universal PCB may be used where the components are fed through one side and soldered on the other. Alcone Cauchy Frequenzweiche
If a valve amp is being used we recommend a serial resonance circuit for impedance correction. Components to be used:
- ELCO non-etched 15 uF
- air core coil 1.2 mH / 0.7 mm
- resistor 12 Ohm 10 Watt
All components to be wired in series, the two leads to be connected to the loudspeaker terminals.

Have a lot of fun with this excellent shelf speaker! - and if you need help, just give us a call at +49-721-9703724.

Cauchy Description   Lab Results   Home

Startseite Standbox Regalbox Chassis Mini Lagrange XT 98 Dirac XT Mini 65 Cauchy

Alcone Cauchy: Bauplan         zu Boxenbeschreibung   zu den Messwerten  

Das Gehäuse ist mit 19 mm MDF oder Multiplexplatten aufzubauen. Es besteht aus 6 Platten für das Gehäuse der Box und weitere 3 Platten für die Innenabtrennung des Mitteltöners. Alle Platten sich rechtwinklig gesägt.

In die Box sind im Mitteltonabteil knapp ein Beutel Polyesterwatte (zuvor 3 Querstreifen für die Bassreflexrohre abschneiden) und im Bassgehäuse 2 Beutel Polyesterwatte einzubringen. Im Bassteil bleibt im Bereich um die Bassreflexrohre (außer der Umwickelung) frei; ansonsten wird die Polyesterwatte ganz locker im restlichen Volumen eingebracht. Alcone Cauchy Frequenzweiche

Montage der Bassreflexrohre

Alcone Cauchy Bassreflexrohr Nach dem Zusammenbau des Gehäuses sind vor Einbau des Tieftöners die Bassreflexrohre zu montieren. Dazu wird durch die Öffnung des Tieftöners von innen zuerst das oberste Rohr eingeschoben (Bild 1). Von außen wird das zweite Rohr zur Verlängerung des ersten mit einem Klebeband befestigt (Bild 2). Zum Schluss wird alles eingeschoben (Bild 3). Zur weichen Lagerung kann um die Mitte des Bassreflexrohres, wo das Klebeband beide zusammenhält eins bis zwei Lagen 10 cm breite Polyesterwatte gewickelt werden.

Wer sich eine noch kompaktere (weniger hohe) Box wünscht, kann Hoch- und Mitteltöner nebeneinander platzieren und die Bassreflexrohre auf der Rückseite anbringen (in Richtung Hochtöner. Der Nachteil daraus ist, dass bei nebeneinander liegendem Hoch- und Mitteltöner, die Box sehr genau auf den Zuhörer ausgerichtet werden muss. Daher haben wir auf diese Bauweise verzichtet.

Cauchy: Frequenzweiche  

Die Frequenzweiche ist auf eine Holzunterlage aufzubauen. Hier werden die Bauteile einzeln mit Heißkleber oder mit Kabelbinder befestigt und anschließend frei verdrahtet. Auf Wunsch können Sie auch eine Universalleiterplatte verwenden, wo die Bauteile von einer Seite gesteckt werden und auf der anderen Seite verlötet. Alcone Cauchy Frequenzweiche
Falls Sie einen Röhrenverstärker haben, empfehlen wir zur Impedanzkorrektur einen Serienschwingkreis mit:
- Elko glatt 15 uF
- Luftspule 1,2 mH / 0,7 mm
- Widerstand 12 Ohm 10 Watt
Die Bauelemente werden alle in Reihe geschaltet und die beiden offenen Ende dann am Lautsprecher-Terminal angeschlossen.

Nun wünschen wir Ihnen viel Freude mit einer ganz fantastischen Kompaktbox klassischer Bauart - und wenn es irgend einen offenen Punkt gibt: Bitte anrufen Tel: 0721-9703724.

zurück zur Beschreibung Cauchy   zu den Messwerten