Special Types of Subwoofers, Basics

Dr.-Ing. Peter Strassacker
E-mail: peter@lautsprechershop.de

URPS, Dipole and RiPol

Conventional loudspeakers and subwoofers separate the front from the rear side of the loudspeaker driver. The original idea was to prevent the rear radiating sound cancelling out the front radiating. This unwanted cancelling out of sound waves is clearly noticeable when a bass driver that is not built into a cabinet is connected to an amplifier. This effect is called acoustic short circuit.

The closed cabinet loudspeaker was born where the rear radiating sound could not leave the enclosure any more. At resonance frequency the enclosure has a output level of P, that deviates in relation to higher frequencies as follows: P = 20 dB * log10 (Qtc), where Qtc represents the Total Quality Factor in a closed cabinet.

At a later stage the bass reflex cabinet appeared where the bass reflex tube delays rear radiation so that front and rear radiation are not cancelling out one another. In fact, when this cabinet is tuned correctly both types of radiation are added.

The purpose of the transmission line system was to use the duct to eliminate rear radiation altogether. Later it was found that the phase shift, caused by the long duct, lead to the effect that low frequencies radiating from the rear were added to the ones radiation from the front (considering a correctly tuned cabinet).

URPS (Under Resonance Principle Subwoofer)

The square of the driver's resonance frequency f depends on the Product m * Fr , where:
- m represents the diaphragm mass
- Fr represents the reset force
  determined by diaphragm
  suspension and rear air mass

URPS means to operate a driver at below its resonance frequency. This is achieved in most cases by increasing the resonance frequency, i.e. fitting the driver into a smaller cabinet. The movement of the woofer's diaphragm compresses and expands the air inside the cabinet. Since the cabinet's volume is smaller, the diaphragm's excursion generates a particularly high counter force.

The smaller the cabinet the higher the increase in resonance frequency. Frequenzgang mit LSP CAD lite

The picture to the right shows an example with Alcone AC10 HE. In a closed cabinet of 26 litre the driver has a resonance frequency of 61 Hz, in a closed cabinet of 4.8 litres the resonance frequency is 125 Hz.

The smaller cabinet shows a level peak at around 150 Hz. At lower frequencies, e.g. 40 Hz, the larger cabinet is quite a bit louder with 82.5 dB (1W,1m) than the smaller one with 70.8 dB; the difference of 11.7 dB requires the amplifier's output to rise 15 times to reach the same sound level.

In order to achieve a similar flat frequency response as a bigger cabinet the URPS' response has to be equalised.

Summary: the woofer's diaphragm excursion in a URPS is restricted due to the smaller cabinet size. As a result the resonance frequency goes up and a much higher amplification is needed to achieve the same diaphragm excursion. The higher internal counter force also causes stronger diaphragm bending and, therefore, higher stress on the materials. Tests confirm a relative high distortion factor of 10% and more (for measurement results and tuning please refer to www.weidinger-online.de).

Sound: depending on the tuning, the bass of a URPS should be as deep as the one coming from a conventional subwoofer; the distortion factor (additional harmonics, also called harmonic distortion), however, is considerably higher. This is not necessarily a disadvantage, for some it's even a benefit.

Additional harmonics produce a livelier sound. But is sounds horrible if it's overdone - clearly noticeable when a URPS is cranked up too much.

Dipole

Dipol The main feature of a dipole loudspeaker is that the driver radiates in different directions with inverse phase. For example, every driver that is not built into a cabinet is basically a dipole since front and rear radiation is phase shifted by 180 degrees.

If now both radiating surfaces are separated by no more than one wavelength or the radiated wavelength is smaller than the baffle diameter D, then - with further dropping frequency - the rear sound pressure will diminish by 6 dB per octave.Dipol

Considering a baffle diameter of 1 metre (representing a wavelength of 340 Hz), the sound pressure will fall by 6 dB per octave when the frequency is declining. At 34 Hz the sound pressure is reduced by 20 dB, or put in an other way: to achieve the same sound level as at 340 Hz ten times more amplification is needed. In the picture to the right, the broken line represents the frequency response of an ideal dipole. If the woofer wasn't dipolar it would show a linear frequency response down to 20 Hz (i.e. the actual frequency response would show a steeper decline).

This decline could be compensated with a more powerful amplifier or a larger diaphragm, however, there are specific dipolar loudspeakers designs offering an even more attractive solution that are explained below:

At higher frequencies there will always be - depending on the frequency - either a cancelling out or a maximum gain, exactly then when the phase is either inverse or the same (comb filter effect).

RiPol speakers, Linkwitz H and U Profiles

If a tube is attached to the front and the rear of the driver, the impedance facing the driver changes due to the additional air resistance by the open tubes resulting in a reduced resonance frequency.Resonanzfrequenz

This way the low bass ability is further improved on. Especially H and N as well as W dipoles are taking advantage of this design in a very efficient way. In the picture to the right the blue line shows the impedance of the RiPol R30 woofer in free air, while the red line shows the impedance when the woofer is built into a RiPol cabinet.

The resonance Frequency's shift from 27 Hz to 21 Hz is particularly astonishing, as any additional counter force will increase the resonance frequency.

The cabinet increases the diaphragm's radiation resistance, the air cannot escape that quickly anymore and, therefore, may be compressed much better. Thus the increased radiation resistance reduces the resonance frequency.

Below you'll find diagrams of all profile types known to us.
 
Dipole und RiPole
All profiles have somewhat similar acoustic properties:

      N-Profil nach Ridtahler
N-Profil RiPol
N-Profil RiPol

The diagram to the right shows the frequency response of the R30 driver that is built into a N profile. The extreme low bass is clearly noticeable as well as sound pressure peaks at 200 - 300 Hz that are waning at higher frequencies.

The peaks appearing at higher frequencies are conditioned on physics; they are always found when two transducers are radiating. It is the same comb filter effect as mentioned above with regard to dipoles.

The diagram below left shows the frequency response measured approx. 1 m away from the loudspeaker, after the high frequencies have been removed with a 6 dB coil and after the peaks at 200 - 300 Hz have been softened with an absorber circuit (L in series to C).

This dipole speaker according to Ridtahler produces an extremely clean bass, showing lightness and a presentation without effort; the listener has the impression that less resonance and standing waves were developing and that the bass cannot be pinpointed - an entirely desirable characteristic.

Linkwitz H and U profiles have comparable characteristics. Linkwitz often uses the W profile with two drivers facing one another to iron out pronounced non-linearity between the two drivers partially, resulting in a reduced distortion factor.

Home

Subwoofer-Sonderbauformen, Grundlagen

Dr.-Ing. Peter Strassacker
Email: peter@lautsprechershop.de

URPS, Dipol und RiPol

In klassischen Bauformen von Lautsprechern und Subwoofern wird die Vorderseite des Lautsprechers von der Rückseite getrennt. Man hatte dabei hauptsächlich als Ziel die Schallauslöschung von rückwärtigem und frontseitigem Schall zu verhindern, die man sofort feststellt, wenn man einen Tieftöner ohne Gehäuse an einem Verstärker anschließt. Dieser Effekt wurde in der Vergangenheit oft als akustischer Kurzschluss bezeichnet.

Somit war sehr früh die geschlossene Box geboren, wo der rückseitige Schall die Box gar nicht mehr verlassen konnte. Sie hat bei ihrer Resonanzfrequenz einen Pegel P, der im Vergleich zu höheren Frequenzen wie folgt abweicht: P = 20 dB * log10 (Qtc), mit Qtc = Güte in der geschlossenen Box.

Später kam die Bassreflexbox hinzu, bei der durch das Bassreflexrohr, der Schall so verzögert wird, dass sich frontseitiger und rückwärtiger Schall nicht mehr auslöschen, sondern bei passender Auslegung im Tieftonbereich sogar addieren.

Bei der Transmission-Line Box war ursprünglich das Ziel den rückwärtigen Schall in rückwärtigen Gängen totlaufen zu lassen. Später stellte sich jedoch heraus, dass die Phasenverschiebung durch den langen Gang dazu führt, dass tieffrequente Töne sich dann von der Rückseite (bei passender Dimensionierung) zu denen der Vorderseite addieren.

URPS (Under Resonance Principle Subwoofer)

Das Quadrat der Resonanzfrequenz f des Lautsprechers hängt vom Produkt m * Fr ab, wobei:
- m die Membranmasse und
- Fr die Rückstellkraft durch
  die Membraneinspannung und
  das rückwärtige Luftvolumen ist.

Der URPS basiert darauf einen Lautsprecher unterhalb seiner Resonanzfrequenz zu betreiben. Dabei wird meist die Resonanzfrequenz hoch gesetzt, indem der Lautsprecher in einem kleinen Gehäuse eingesetzt wird. Das kleine Gehäuse hat ein kleines Volumen, das durch die Membranbewegung komprimiert und expandiert wird. Durch das besonders kleine Volumen baut sich bei jeglicher Membranauslenkung eine besonders starke Gegenkraft auf.

Je kleiner das geschlossene Gehäuse, desto weiter steigt die Resonanzfrequenz an. Frequenzgang mit LSP CAD lite

Im Bild rechts ist ein Beispiel mit Alcone AC10 HE. Der Tieftöner hat in einem geschlossenen Volumen von 26 L eine Resonanzfrequenz von 61 Hz, in einem 4,8 L Volumen 125 Hz Resonanzfrequenz.

Im kleinen Volumenverkleinerung bildet sich eine Pegelüberhöhung bei rund 150 Hz. Bei tiefen Frequenzen, beispielsweise bei 40 Hz ist die große Box mit 82,5 dB (1W,1m) wesentlich lauter als die kleine mit 70,8 dB; die 11,7 dB leiser ist, weswegen für die gleiche Lautstärke der Verstärker die 15-fache Leistung aufbringen muss.

Der Frequenzgang des URPS wird durch eine abgestimmte Equalizerschaltung geglättet, so dass er ebenso glatt ist wie der eines größeren Gehäuses.

Zusammengefasst: Die Membran des Tieftöners im URPS wird durch die steife Feder (kleines Volumen) festgehalten, weswegen sich die Resonanz nach oben verschiebt und man für gleiche Auslenkung sehr viel höhere Leistung benötigt. Da die Membran durch die steife Feder auch viel mehr belastet wird, macht sie auch stärkere Biegeschwingungen und ist insgesamt viel stärker belastet. Bei Messungen stellt man einen relativ hohen Klirrfaktor im 10%-Bereich und darüber fest (Messungen und Schaltungsdimensionierung siehe www.weidinger-online.de).

Klangbeschreibung: Abhängig von der Dimensionierung geht der Bass ebenso tief wie beim konventionellen Subwoofer; jedoch ist der Klirrfaktor (zusätzliche Obertöne, auch nichtlineare Verzerrungen genannt) deutlich höher als beim normalen Subwoofer, was wohl den Reiz des Subwoofers ausmacht.

Zusätzliche Obertöne machen den Klang lebendiger - jedoch klingt es bei Übertreibung nur noch scheußlich, was man bei überhöhter Lautstärke am URPS sofort feststellt.

Dipole

Dipol Ein Dipol zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass er in unterschiedliche Richtungen mit entgegengesetzter Phase abstrahlt. So ist jeder nicht eingebaute Lautsprecher ein Dipol, da er nach vorn um 180 Grad gegenüber der Rückseite phasenverschoben abstrahlt.

Sind nun beide abstrahlende Flächen näher zusammen als eine Wellenlänge, oder ist die abgestrahlte Wellenlänge kleiner als der Schallwanddurchmesser D, so sinkt mit weiter fallender Frequenz der Schalldruck im Fernfeld um 6 dB pro Oktave. Dipol

Mit einem Schallwanddurchmesser von einem Meter (was der Wellenlänge von 340 Hz entspricht), fällt also mit abfallender Frequenz der Schalldruck um 6 dB pro Oktave - bei 34 Hz ist man somit bei 20 dB vermindertem Schalldruck - oder anders ausgedrückt: hier benötigt man die 10-fache Leistung um den gleichen Lautstärke-Pegel zu erreichen wie bei 340 Hz. Im Bild rechts gestrichelt: Frequenzgang eines idealen Dipols, dessen Tieftöner ohne Dipolanordnung bis herunter auf 20 Hz linear übertragen würde (der wirkliche Frequenzgang fällt also steiler ab).

Diesen Abfall könnte man mit sehr leistungsstarken Verstärkern und großen Membranen ausgleichen, jedoch gibt es Dipol-Sonderformen, bei denen das Ergebnis sehr viel attraktiver ist, die nachfolgend beschrieben werden.

Bei höheren Frequenzen gibt es frequenzabhängig immer wieder Auslöschung bzw. maximale Verstärkung, wenn die vordere und hintere Phase entgegengesetzt bzw. gleich ist (Kammfiltereffekt).

RiPole und Linkwitz H- und U-Profile

Setzt man am Lautsprecher nach vorn und nach hinten eine Röhre auf, so wird die Impedanz, die der Lautsprecher sieht, durch die nach außen offene Röhre durch die zusätzliche Luftlast verändert, so dass der Lautsprecher sogar seine Resonanz zu tieferen Frequenzen verschiebt. Resonanzfrequenz

Auf diese Weise wird die Fähigkeit Tiefbass zu erzeugen, nochmals verbessert. Dieser Effekt wird insbesondere bei den H- N- und W-Dipolen effizient ausgenutzt. Im Bild rechts dargestellt zum Tieftöner RiPol R30 in blauer Farbe die Impedanz des Tieftöners in Luft (free air-Messung) und in roter Farbe die Impedanz der Tieftöners im RiPol-Gehäuse.

Die Verschiebung der Resonanz von rund 27 Hz auf 21 Hz ist besonders erstaunlich, da jegliche zusätzliche Rückstellkraft die Resonanz anhebt.

Das Gehäuse erhöht den Strahlungswiderstand der Membran, die Luft kann nicht mehr so schnell ausweichen und dadurch auch besser komprimiert werden. Durch den so erhöhten Strahlungswiderstand sinkt die Eigenresonanz.

Eine Übersicht über alle uns bekannte Profile finden Sie in nachfolgendem Bild.
 
Dipole und RiPole
Die Profile haben akustisch eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit:

      N-Profil nach Ridtahler
N-Profil RiPol
N-Profil RiPol

Misst man den Frequenzgang einen Lautsprechers (hier der R30) im beidseitig geführten Raum (z.B.: N-Profil), dann sieht sein Frequenzgang wie im Bild rechts dargestellt aus. Man erkennt einen weit nach unten gehenden Tiefbass und bei 200-300 Hz deutliche Übertreibungen, die zu höheren Frequenzen abklingen.

Die mit steigender Frequenz vorhandenen Gipfel sind physikalisch bedingt; sie sind bei jeder Schallquelle mit zwei Strahlern aufzufinden; es ist der oben beim Dipol genannte Kammfiltereffekt.

Filtert man die Höhen mit einer 6 dB-Spule weg und unterdrückt die starke Übertreibung bei 200-300 Hz mir einem Saugkreis (L in Serie zu C), dann ergibt sich im Raum (ca 1m vom Subwoofer) unten rechts dargestellter Frequenzgang.

Dieser Dipol nach Ridtahler erzeugt einen sehr sauberen Bass der den Eindruck großer Leichtigkeit vermittelt; man hat den Eindruck dass sich weniger Resonanzen im Raum ausbilden und dass der Bass nicht zu orten ist (was man sich von einem Subwoofer so wünscht).

Linkwitz H- und U-Profile haben ein vergleichbares Verhalten. Linkwitz verwendet gerne das W-Profil mit einem umgedrehten Tieftöner, damit bei starker Nichtlinearitäten gerader Ordnung sich diese zwischen den beiden Tieftönern zum Teil ausgleichen, wodurch der Klirrfaktor etwas gesenkt werden kann.