Electronics   Power Supply   Cable   Loudspeakers   Cable   Home

Theory On Power Supply

Versorgung In a car environment the battery supplies current and voltage to the power consuming devices. Voltage is relatively low (usually 12 Volt), which is why the current is quite high (power P = current I * voltage U). Therefore, the power supply wires have to be relatively thick (refer to wire diameters).

The diagram on the left shows the power supply cables; they are usually bought as installation kit.

All power consuming devices need at least 2 power connectors. Therefore, every battery has two contacts. To save one cable per device in a car, the minus cable is usually connected to car body. The car's body is a conductor too.

At the installation point the device has to be connected to the car body (No. 4 in the diagram). All contacts have to be good to avoid power loss at high current and the resulting heat.

The wiring cable 1 between battery and fuse should be as short as possible. Should the insulation be damaged the conductor gets into contact with the car body almost unlimited current may occur; this current might destroy the battery or even set the car on fire. In case of a short circuit the fuse (3) will just blow.

At extremely high currents a Capacitor between 500.000 an 1.000.000 uF may be added to support the battery at current pulses. Should the amplifier briefly "draw" high current the battery is then supported.

Connecting and disconnecting the battery

There is a rule in which order to disconnect / connect a battery:
- Always disconnect cable 2 (minus) first, then cable 1 (plus).
- Connecting always in reversed order, cable 1 (plus) first, then cable 1 (minus).

This procedure prevents the battery from being destroyed when just cable 2 is connected and some ground wire touches the positive pole at the same time.

The current flow

The current usually flows from the minus (-) pole of the battery (No. 2 in the picture above) to the car body. This means that current is available everywhere it is needed (at least on all cars that are known to us).

That's how the current gets to No. 4, where connection is made to the car body and current is supplied to the devices (blue line).

The positive (+) pole of the battery should be connected to the devices using a red cable. All contacts must be solid and a possible fuse should be as close to the battery as possible to ensure that current flow is limited should a short circuit or a device fault occur.

Both, plus and minus pole are supplying current to the devices. Though, somehow the amplifier has to be switched on. Therefore, the control unit (usually the radio) has an additional output (remote switch-on, marked green in the picture). This output has to be connected to the amp. That way, every time the radio is turned-on, the amplifier is switched-on too.

Special cases

When the car is not made of metal or the current flow is not safe, an additional wiring cable needs to be connected from the minus (-) pole of the battery to the individual devices.

There might also be cars where above connection procedures won't work.

Power Supply Cable   Loudspeakers   Loudspeaker Cable  
back to Electronics Home


Copyright © Iris Strassacker 1998-2009. All rights reserved.

Geräte   Stromversorgung   Kabel   Lautsprecher   Kabel   zur Startseite

Theorie zur Stromversorgung

Versorgung Im Auto versorgt die Batterie die Stromverbraucher. Sie hat eine relativ geringe Spannung U (im Auto in der Regel 12 V), weswegen hohe Ströme I fließen (Leistung P = Strom I * Spannung U). Die Kabel müssen also relativ dick sein (siehe Kabelquerschnitte).

Im Bild links finden Sie schematisch die Stromversorgungskabel aufgezeichnet, die meist als Montageset gekauft werden.

Jeder elektrische Verbraucher benötigt mindestens 2 Stromanschlüsse. Daher hat jede Batterie zwei Kontakte. Beim Auto möchte man ein Kabel sparen, weswegen meist das (-)-Kabel an mit dem Autoblech verbunden ist. Das Blech des Autos leitet ebenso den Strom.

Am Ziel wird der Verbraucher dann auch wieder am Blech angeschlossen (im Bild Nr. 4). Dieser Kontakt muss wie alle Kontakte sehr gut sein, da ansonsten bei hohen Strömen Spannungsverluste an der Kontaktstelle entstehen - und diese Stelle auch sehr heiß werden kann.

Die Leitung 1 zwischen Batterie und Sicherung, sollte möglichst kurz sein. Wird Ihre Abschirmung verletzt und kommt dann der Leiter mit dem Auto in Verbindung, so kann fast unbegrenzt Strom fließen; dieser kann zur Zerstörung der Batterie führen; im Extremfall kann es zum Brand kommen. Hinter der Sicherung (3) wird im Kurzschlussfall einfach die Sicherung schmelzen.

Bei sehr hohen Strömen kann man zur Unterstützung der Batterie bei Stromimpulsen einen Kondensator mit 500 000 bis 1 000 000 uF einsetzen. Wenn der Verstärker ganz kurzzeitig hohe Ströme zieht wird dadurch die Batterie unterstützt.

Batterie an- und abklemmen

Es gibt eine Regel in welcher Reihenfolge die Kabel an der Batterie anzuschließen sind:
- Zuerst ist immer Kabel 2 abzuklemmen, dann Kabel 1.
- umgekehrt beim Anschließen: Zuerst wird 1 angeschlossen, dann 2.

Diese Regel verhindert, dass wenn nur Kabel 2 angeschlossen ist und man nun beim Hantieren mit Masse gegen den Pluspol kommt, die Batterie abbrennt.

Der Stromfluss

Vom Minuspol (-) der Batterie (siehe Bild oben, Anschluss 2) fließt der Strom in der Regel zum Blechkleid des Autos, wo er dann überall verfügbar ist (zumindest bei allen Autos die wir kennen).

So gelangt er auch an Stelle 4, wo das Blechkleid kontaktiert und zu den Geräten geführt wird (blaue Leitung).

Der positive Pol (+) der Batterie sollte mit einem roten Kabel mit den Geräten verbunden werden. Dazu müssen alle Kontakte sehr solide sein und eine Sicherung muss möglichst nahe der Batterie eingebaut sein und den Stromfluss im Falle eines Kurzschlusses oder Geräte-Defekts begrenzen.

Plus- und Minus versorgen die Geräte. Nun weis der Verstärker jedoch nicht wann er eingeschaltet sein soll. Daher hat das Steuergerät (Radio) einen zusätzlichen Ausgang (den Remote Control, hier grün gezeichnet). Dieser ist an dem Verstärker anzuschließen. Damit kann das Radio immer wenn es spielt, den Verstärker zum Leben erwecken.

Sonderformen

Bei Autos, die nicht aus Metall sind oder bei Autos wo der Stromfluss durch die Karosserie nicht sicher ist, kann die zweite Leitung (meist -) auch direkt von der Batterie zu den Geräten verlegt werden.

Auch mag es ansonsten Autos geben, wo diese Anschluss-Schematik nicht eingehalten wird.

weiter zu Stromversorgungs-Kabeln   Lautsprecher   Lautsprecher-Kabel  
zurück zu den Geräten zur Startseite


Copyright © Iris Strassacker 1998-2009. All rights reserved.